If your mom is like my mom…

Then she LOVES chocolates!  Especially dark chocolate caramels with sweet gooey centers…so much that if you buy her chocolates in Burge, Belgium and carry them around a two week Eurorail trip, and they somehow get smashed, she’ll still eat them and love them to bits.

Ever since I’ve moved to NYC, I’ve been trying to figure out who has the best chocolates…I know…sometimes I really tackle the hard hitting issues…the really dangerous topics…the highly controversial! And, of course, this has required a LOT of sacrifice on my part. In an effort to find THE best for old ma Mere, I get her dark chocolate caramels from a different chocolatier (or choc-lottery as my friend’s cousin calls them) each year. In the past I’ve tried Jacques Torres (amazing) La Maison Du Chocolate (divine), Marriebelle (beautiful packaging, tropical flavors and a fabulous showroom), Teuscher (incredible champagne truffles…but caramels…not so much), Pierre Marcolini (life changing-especially the raspberry hearts!) so this year it’s a neighborhood favorite: NUNU chocolates. They started out in a farmers market and have graduated to a brick and mortar store! AND it just so happens that they specialize in chocolate covered caramels! Of all different shapes and sizes! Ma Mere will be TRES please!

welcome to nunu chocolates.

Leave a Reply

