Health Care Reform-YES WE CAN-and why we have to

Very interesting article on the current health care crisis and one that every American should read.  If the pretty graph that compares your wage increase (or lack thereof) to health insurance premiums increase, read on and figure out if you can come up with a better solution.  I’m one of the lucky few unemployed people who, thanks to the stimulus plan, can still afford her COBRA payments.  If I don’t have a job in 9 months (which is when Uncle Sam stops helping me out with my COBRA payments) I don’t know what I’m going to do for health care.  I’ll be even more broken then than I am now which is going to make private insurance pretty unrealistic…and I’m not going to be alone.  But at least I’m single and don’t have a family that relies on my health insurance too…and at least I’m fairly young and in good health (knock on wood).  But the cold hard facts are that the unemployment rate is climbing to 10% pretty quickly and the health care crisis is just going to get worse if we don’t do something about it soon.  As more people lose their jobs, I betting there are going to be a lot more sugarbabies on that site looking for sugardaddies and this time it’s going to be to pay their health insurance premium instead of college loans or fancy handbags.  There’s something about that sort of desperation that makes it hard to even joke about that site now.  Private health insurance companies aren’t going to lobby Congress or the White House to adopt a plan as radical as this one, so it’s up to the public.  Just something to chew on.  I also have to add that Health Law was one of the scariest classes I took in law school and this article seems to be over simplifying…a bit…but maybe I was over-thinking?  It would be unlike me…but perhaps.

Why consensus health care reform won’t work. – By Timothy Noah – Slate Magazine.

And here’s a Slate editorial response to the above article.  I think the title says it all and I’m too sleepy to ‘splain it to you.

Tim Noah Is Kidding Himself About Health Care Costs

Leave a Reply

