Something ELSE I have in common with the Obamas!

Not only am I probably RELATED to the Prez (according to some TOTALLY accurate genealogy service Facebook wanted me to sign up for-Obama and I are 4th cousins!…I’m SO SURE it’s true!) but I TOO will be planting a vegetable garden this year!  It’s like we’re soulmates!  He was a Harvard Law Professor and on Law Review, I went to law school and started weekly pub crawls…he was a social activist in Chicago…I visited the windy city twice and was quite social…he grew up in Hawaii, I had a dream I was there last night! Shopping in a mall and supporting the economy! And now he’s planting a veggie garden sans beets and so am I!  We are just so connected!  I’m sure he feels it too…every time he eats a Five Guys’ Burger (author’s note…it is NOT a coincidence that Five Guys is now here in NYC and Brooklyn…they followed me…and that’s fine…I’m used to having a following…I’m just not sure I like what Five Guys following me all the way to Park Slope says about me, my expanding hips and ass, and my “diet”).

In all seriousness, gardening is a great way to grow your own cheap and delicious food. Veggies are better for you the closer to the ground you eat them-meaning, the longer they are out of the ground, the less beneficial they are for you…so if you pluck a tomato and eat it off the vine, you’re getting more from it. Plus starting a lettuce garden can save you at least $10 a week if you have a wicked salad habit like I do. Them mescaline greens is expensive. For reals y’all.

Obamas Prepare to Plant White House Vegetable Garden – NYTimes.com.

4 thoughts on “Something ELSE I have in common with the Obamas!”

  1. Stumbled across your blog while trying to figure out wordpress. I really like it. And that has nothing to do with the fact that I’m probably distantly related to you, as I too am a distant relative of the Obamas. I’m so glad that facebook is there to connect us.

    http://ladiesinthered.wordpress.com/

  2. AWESOME! The Obama family is growing strong! I’ll add you to the blog roll. So sorry to hear you’re a lawyer. I’m a recovering lawyer myself…can’t get any worse, right?

  3. Maybe the only way it could be worse if I were just about to start law school again. The soul crushing in now over at least. With no soul to crush, the legal profession can’t get me down!

    It could also be worse if I were part of that show on TLC, “Kids by the Dozen.” That would be torture.

    Thanks for the blogroll add. I’m adding you as well.

  4. YES…kids by the dozen would be MUCH worse.
    I can’t imagine ANYONE starting law school right now…I have met one person but she’s doing public interest law and is getting a full ride…but anyone else! I can’t even begin to imagine. 3rd years at Columbia and Harvard are being told they don’t have jobs in this economy! I can’t imagine how hard it must be to sit through a tax class and just know that it’s not going anywhere and it doesn’t matter! You’re all screwed! THAT is soul crushing.
    But the weather is getting better!

Leave a Reply

